Triangulation Testing 1

After deciding that I want to explore the theme and visual aesthetic of geometrical shapes, in particular triangles, I have decided to try and emulate some of the design which I have seen in videos such as ‘Transmission’ (https://vimeo.com/47379455) and the ‘Art of Flight Intro Title Sequence’ (https://vimeo.com/34334935). Below are two screenshots from the videos which acted as inspiration for me as I created my design.

Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 13.45.08 Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 13.45.50

I created my design (below) on Adobe Illustrator by creating no filled triangular shapes using the pen tool, and then matching each point of the triangle up to connect with other triangle’s points. I then added stroke to each shape, usually 1pt or less, and added an outer glow (effects > outer glow) of a white/yellow colour. Then I added some subtle colour to some of the shapes, and decreased the opacity of each triangle to different levels so that when they overlapped, the other shapes and colours shone through.

I am to use this method when I come to actually designing my final work.

Glow Triangles

Leave a Reply

