Triangulation Testing Process

Below are a few screenshots illustrating how I created the main graphic for my Triangulation design.

 

First I used the pen tool to create triangular shapes. For each triangle I drew, I drew another one adjacent to it so it started to build up a geometrical diamond shape.

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 14.46.34

 

One of the first things I noticed was that each triangles points were overlapping unevenly according to the shape of each individual triangle, and the points looked ugly at each corner of the diamond shape. So I used the round edges tool under the effects menu, so that the shape was neat.

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 14.47.04

 

I opened up the TRUMATCH colour swatches and scrolled to the pink section, as I knew I wanted the colour scheme for my poster to be a deep grey and a range of pinks. I filled in each section with a different shade of pink, according to where the imagined light would be hitting the shape (if the light was from front-on but slightly below the shape). This gives the shape a 3D feel now instead of just 2D.

I also used the outer glow effect from the effects menu with a screen overlay and a pale pink colour with a high opacity and slight blur for the stroke of each of the triangles to give the shape more of a 3D feel, as well as making it look more professional too due to the glow which both of my inspirational videos used.

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 15.07.28

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 15.09.09

 

Then I copied all the layers and imported them as a smart object into Adobe Photoshop to add some Photoshop-style effects, such as a further outer glow for the shape as a whole. I also decided to crop the shape slightly so that it looked like it goes off the page as I think this makes the aesthetic as a whole much cleaner and less random and sporadic.

Screen Shot 2014-03-20 at 15.30.29

Leave a Reply

